Articles online

The Predictive Method for the Submicron and Nano-Sized Particle Collection Efficiency of Multipoint-to-Plane Electrostatic Precipitators

Category: Articles

Volume: 13 | Issue: 5 | Pages: 1404-1410
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2013.05.0144

Export Citation:  RIS | BibTeX

Thi-Cuc Le, Guan-Yu Lin, Chuen-Jinn Tsai

  • Institute of Environmental Engineering, National Chiao Tung University, No.1001 University Road, Hsin Chu, 300, Taiwan


The multipoint-to-plane electrostatic precipitator (ESP) is one type of ESP devices used for the sampling and control of nanoparticles and sub-micron particles, with the advantage of a low pressure drop and high particle collection efficiency. Several empirical equations for predicting the particle collection efficiency are available in the literature, but most of them are only applicable to wire-in-plate ESPs. For ESPs with different discharge electrodes, the empirical equations are different since the ion concentration and electric fields are different. In this paper, a predictive method is developed to calculate the particle migration velocity and the particle collection efficiency equation η(%) of multipoint-to-plane ESPs in the form of η(%) = {1 – exp{–[β1(NDeβ2) + β3(NDe) + β4]}} × 100%, in which β1, β2, β3 and β4 are regression coefficients and NDe is the Deutsch number determined by the particle migration velocity. Good agreement is obtained between the present model predictions and the experimental particle collection efficiencies obtained from the literature. It is expected that the present model can be used to facilitate the design of efficient multipoint-to-plane ESPs for nanoparticle and sub-micron particles removal in the future.


Multipoint-to-plane ESPs V-I characteristic Deutsch-Anderson equation Particle control

Related Article

Exploring the Variation between EC and BC in a Variety of Locations

Gbenga Oladoyin Salako, Philip K. Hopke , David D. Cohen, Bilkis A. Begum, Swapan K. Biswas, Gauri Girish Pandit, Yong-Sam Chung, Shamsiah Abd Rahman, Mohd Suhaimi Hamzah, Perry Davy, Andreas Markwitz, Dagva Shagjjamba, Sereeter Lodoysamba, Wanna Wimolwattanapun, Supamatthree Bunprapob