Articles online

Study of Aerosol Optical Properties Based on Ground Measurements over Sichuan Basin, China

Category: Articles

Volume: 14 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 905-915
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2013.04.0125
PDF | RIS | BibTeX

Ran Tao1,2, Huizheng Che 2, Quanliang Chen1, Jun Tao3, Yaqiang Wang2, Junying Sun2, Hong Wang2, Xiaoye Zhang2

  • 1 Plateau Atmospheric and Environment Key Laboratory of Sichuan Province, College of Atmospheric Sciences, Chengdu University of Information Technology, Chengdu 610225, China
  • 2 Key Laboratory for Atmospheric Chemistry (LAC), Institute of Atmospheric Composition, Chinese Academy of Meteorological Sciences (CAMS), CMA, Beijing 100081, China
  • 3 South China Institute of Environmental Sciences, MEP, Guangzhou 510655, China


The characteristics of aerosol optical depth (AOD) and Ångström exponent as well as the relationship between the AOD and particulate matter (PM10), were measured and analyzed at the Chengdu station over the Sichuan Basin in China from February 2007 to December 2009. High monthly AODs were observed in March, August and December, while a low value was observed in October. Monthly variations in Ångström exponent were opposite to the AODs in March and August. The averaged PM10 showed a significantly seasonal variation with a peak in winter. There is a complicated (not linear) positive correlation between total AOD and PM10 near the surface. Three typical cases under the conditions of dust and haze were studied, and the results showed that the AODs on the dust days were largest while minimum AODs occurred on haze days. On the contrast, the Ångström exponent distributions among three weather conditions were opposite to the AODs. The 3-day back-trajectory analysis indicated that the origin of the air masses largely affected the aerosol optical properties over the Sichuan Basin.


AOD Ångström exponent Sichuan Basin PM10 Back-trajectory analysis

Related Article

Atmospheric Deposition of Polychlorinated Dibenzo-p-Dioxins and Dibenzofurans in Two Cities of Southern China

Jinning Zhu, Haiyan Tang, Jin Xing, Wen-Jhy Lee , Ping Yan , Kangping Cui
Volume: 17 | Issue: 7 | Pages: 1798-1810
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2017.05.0177

Characterization of Inorganic Elements within PM2.5 and PM10 Fractions of Fly Ashes from Coal-Fired Power Plants

Zhiyong Li , Yaqin Ji, Huiqiao Ma, Peng Zhao, Xiangchao Zeng, Songtao Liu, Yunjun Jiang, Lei Wang, Aiqin Liu, Huiying Gao, Fude Liu, John Kennedy Mwangi
Volume: 17 | Issue: 4 | Pages: 1105-1116
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2017.02.0071

Critical Emissions from the Largest On-Road Transport Network in South Asia

Saroj Kumar Sahu , Gufran Beig, Neha Parkhi
Volume: 14 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 135-144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2013.04.0137

Ambient Air Quality during Diwali Festival over Kolkata – A Mega-City in India

A. Chatterjee , C. Sarkar, A. Adak, U. Mukherjee, S.K. Ghosh, S. Raha
Volume: 13 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 1133-1144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2012.03.0062