Articles online

Minimum Collection Efficiency Particle Diameter during Precipitation as a Function of Rain Intensity

Category: Articles

Volume: 13 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 1070-1077
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2012.09.0255
PDF | RIS | BibTeX

Chang H. Jung 1, Seoung Soo Lee2, Soo Ya Bae3, Yong P. Kim

  • 1 Department of Health Management, Kyungin Women’s College, Gyesan-gil, Kyeyang-gu, Incheon 407-740, Korea
  • 2 Chemical Sciences Division, NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory (ESRL), 325 Broadway, Boulder, Colorado 80305, USA
  • 3 Korea Institute of Atmospheric Prediction Systems, Boramae-ro 5 gil, Dongjak-gu, Seoul 156-849, Korea


This study found that the minimum collection efficiency particle diameter during precipitation is a function of rain intensity. The raindrop size distribution was parameterized with a log normal size distribution as a function of rain intensity, and the minimum collection efficiency and minimum collection efficiency diameter were obtained analytically.

The results show that, during precipitation, both the minimum scavenging coefficient diameter and the minimum scavenging coefficient increase along with rain intensity. A comparison of the minimum collection efficiency diameters for various falling velocities reveals that there is not much of a difference in the diameters.

Both the numerical and analytical results of this study agree well, without much loss of accuracy.


Minimum collection efficiency particle diameter Rain intensity Polydispersed raindrop size distribution Analytic solution Raindrop fall velocity

Related Article

Critical Emissions from the Largest On-Road Transport Network in South Asia

Saroj Kumar Sahu , Gufran Beig, Neha Parkhi
Volume: 14 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 135-144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2013.04.0137

Ambient Air Quality during Diwali Festival over Kolkata – A Mega-City in India

A. Chatterjee , C. Sarkar, A. Adak, U. Mukherjee, S.K. Ghosh, S. Raha
Volume: 13 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 1133-1144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2012.03.0062

Exploring the Variation between EC and BC in a Variety of Locations

Gbenga Oladoyin Salako, Philip K. Hopke , David D. Cohen, Bilkis A. Begum, Swapan K. Biswas, Gauri Girish Pandit, Yong-Sam Chung, Shamsiah Abd Rahman, Mohd Suhaimi Hamzah, Perry Davy, Andreas Markwitz, Dagva Shagjjamba, Sereeter Lodoysamba, Wanna Wimolwattanapun, Supamatthree Bunprapob
Volume: 12 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 1-7
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2011.09.0150