Articles online

Aerosol Charging Using Pen-Type UV Lamps

Category: Articles

Volume: 11 | Issue: 7 | Pages: 791-801
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2011.07.0103
PDF | RIS | BibTeX

Lin Li, Da-Ren Chen

  • Department of Energy, Environmental & Chemical Engineering, Washington University in St. Louis, One Brookings Drive, Box 1180, St. Louis, Missouri 63130, U.S.A.


A portable aerosol charger utilizing pen-type Hg lamps was constructed to investigate the particle charging process under UV irradiation. The charger primarily consisted of a quartz tube surrounded by four pen-type low-pressure Hg lamps and an ion trap located downstream of the quartz tube to remove excessive ions. The performance of the prototype UV charger at 5 L/min flow rate and with four UV lamps turned on using monodisperse silver (Ag) particles with diameters ranging from 7 to 30 nm was evaluated. As expected, the prototype UV charger provided higher particle charging efficiencies than corona-based unipolar chargers for Ag particles. To evaluate the effect of irradiation intensity on particle photocharging, the charging efficiencies and charge distributions for Ag particles ranged from 7 to 30 nm when the prototype was operated at an aerosol flow rate of 5 L/min for the cases of one, two, and four lamps turned on. The UV charging model with the photoemission based on the Fowler-Nordheim law was further applied to predict the charging performance of the UV charger at different operational conditions.


Nanoparticle charging UV charger UV irradiation intensity

Related Article

Critical Emissions from the Largest On-Road Transport Network in South Asia

Saroj Kumar Sahu , Gufran Beig, Neha Parkhi
Volume: 14 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 135-144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2013.04.0137

Ambient Air Quality during Diwali Festival over Kolkata – A Mega-City in India

A. Chatterjee , C. Sarkar, A. Adak, U. Mukherjee, S.K. Ghosh, S. Raha
Volume: 13 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 1133-1144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2012.03.0062

Exploring the Variation between EC and BC in a Variety of Locations

Gbenga Oladoyin Salako, Philip K. Hopke , David D. Cohen, Bilkis A. Begum, Swapan K. Biswas, Gauri Girish Pandit, Yong-Sam Chung, Shamsiah Abd Rahman, Mohd Suhaimi Hamzah, Perry Davy, Andreas Markwitz, Dagva Shagjjamba, Sereeter Lodoysamba, Wanna Wimolwattanapun, Supamatthree Bunprapob
Volume: 12 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 1-7
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2011.09.0150