Articles online

Measurements of Gaseous Pollutant Concentrations in the Hsuehshan Traffic Tunnel of Northern Taiwan

Category: Articles

Volume: 11 | Issue: 6 | Pages: 776-782
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2011.02.0009
PDF | RIS | BibTeX

Han-Chieh Li1, Kang-Shin Chen 1, Chia-Hsiang Lai2, Hsin-Kai Wang1

  • 1 Institute of Environmental Engineering, National Sun Yat-Sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan, R.O.C.
  • 2 Department of Safety, Health and Environmental Engineering, Central Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taichung, Taiwan, R.O.C.


Concentrations of carbon monoxide (CO) and nitrogen oxides (NOx) were measured from 14–17 November 2008 in a cross-mountain Hsuehshan traffic tunnel stretching 12.9 km and containing eastward and westward channels. Traffic and pollutant concentrations during the weekends exceeded those during the weekdays. Measured concentrations of CO at the two tunnel outlets (14.45–22.77 ppm) were approximately three times higher than those at the two tunnel inlets (3.17–7.33 ppm), while concentrations of NOx at the two tunnel outlets (1.92–2.88 ppm) were approximately four to five times higher than those at the two tunnel inlets (0.32–0.78 ppm). The outlet of vertical draft 2 had the highest pollutant concentrations (CO = 12.27 ppm; NOx = 1.85 ppm), followed by vertical drafts 1 and 3. The emission factors for the upslope, west-ward lanes (CO = 1.90 ± 0.43 g/km-veh; NOx = 0.38 ± 0.07 g/km-veh) are higher than those for the down-slope, eastward lanes (CO = 1.45 ± 0.13 g/km-veh; NOx = 0.26 ± 0.03 g/km-veh). High traffic volume and low traffic speed result in high concentrations and emission factors of the pollutants in the tunnel.


Tunnel air quality Hsuehshan tunnel CO NOx Vertical draft

Related Article

Can ΔPM2.5/ΔCO and ΔNOy/ΔCO Enhancement Ratios Be Used to Characterize the Influence of Wildfire Smoke in Urban Areas?

James R. Laing, Daniel A. Jaffe , Abbigale P. Slavens, Wenting Li, Wenxi Wang
Volume: 17 | Issue: 10 | Pages: 2413-2423
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2017.02.0069
PDF | Supplemental material

High Resolution Emission Inventory of NOx and CO for Mega City Delhi, India

Saroj Kumar Sahu , Gufran Beig, Neha Parkhi
Volume: 15 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 1137-1144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2014.07.0132

Critical Emissions from the Largest On-Road Transport Network in South Asia

Saroj Kumar Sahu , Gufran Beig, Neha Parkhi
Volume: 14 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 135-144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2013.04.0137

Ambient Air Quality during Diwali Festival over Kolkata – A Mega-City in India

A. Chatterjee , C. Sarkar, A. Adak, U. Mukherjee, S.K. Ghosh, S. Raha
Volume: 13 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 1133-1144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2012.03.0062