Articles online

Thermal Plasma Synthesis of Iron Oxide Aerosols and Their Characteristics

Category: Articles

Volume: 9 | Issue: 2 | Pages: 172-186
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2008.03.0008
PDF | RIS | BibTeX

V. Subramanian, R. Baskaran , H. Krishnan

  • Radiological Safety Division, Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam, India


Thermal Plasma synthesis of Hematite Fe2O3 particles has been carried out for the generation of sub-micrometer range of particles. The plasma torch acts as a source of thermal energy and the plasma forming gas provides an inert atmosphere. The plasma column is stabilized by gas flow stabilization method in which a flowing external cold layer of a gas surrounds the arc column and the sheath gas enters into the reaction region. The sub-micrometer particles are generated by varying sheath gas with air and nitrogen, so that, the oxygen availability is varied during the formation of sub-micrometer particles. The plasma synthesized particles are characterized by X-ray diffraction, Moessbauer spectroscopy and spectrochemical analysis. The particle size distribution of the suspended aerosols and the aerosol deposits are determined. The aerosol size spectrum showed the presence of particles ranging from nano-meter to micrometer. Quantification of Fe2+ and Fe3+ present in the aerosol deposits showed that the generation of Fe2+ has been enhanced by 2% when the sheath gas is changed from air to nitrogen.


Hematite Aerosol characteristics Fe2+ and Fe3+ states

Related Article

Critical Emissions from the Largest On-Road Transport Network in South Asia

Saroj Kumar Sahu , Gufran Beig, Neha Parkhi
Volume: 14 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 135-144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2013.04.0137

Ambient Air Quality during Diwali Festival over Kolkata – A Mega-City in India

A. Chatterjee , C. Sarkar, A. Adak, U. Mukherjee, S.K. Ghosh, S. Raha
Volume: 13 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 1133-1144
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2012.03.0062

Exploring the Variation between EC and BC in a Variety of Locations

Gbenga Oladoyin Salako, Philip K. Hopke , David D. Cohen, Bilkis A. Begum, Swapan K. Biswas, Gauri Girish Pandit, Yong-Sam Chung, Shamsiah Abd Rahman, Mohd Suhaimi Hamzah, Perry Davy, Andreas Markwitz, Dagva Shagjjamba, Sereeter Lodoysamba, Wanna Wimolwattanapun, Supamatthree Bunprapob
Volume: 12 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 1-7
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2011.09.0150